

Inaugural Symposium

Interprofessional Education,
Collaborative Practice & Scholarship

APRIL 27, 2018

12:30 pm - 6:00 pm

College of Nursing Event Center, Third Floor 845 South Damen Avenue

The purpose of this symposium is to share and be inspired by our collective work in interprofessional education, collaborative practice and scholarship

PROGRAM

- > Keynote Address: Dr. G. Thibault, MD
- > Student Panel on IPE Experiences
- > Recognition of UIC IPE Faculty
- > Poster Session
- > Networking Reception

We invite all members of the UIC community who support the growth of IPE at UIC to join us. We hope this inaugural symposium brings together colleagues interested in becoming more actively engaged with IPE initiatives at UIC.

UIC IPE Steering Committee Scholarship Workgroup

Memoona Hasnain, MD, MHPE, PhD (Chair)
Valerie Gruss, PhD, CNP-BC
Mary T. Keehn, PT, DPT, MHPE
Elizabeth Peterson, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

Keynote Address



George E. Thibault, MD

President, Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation

Visionary leader in interprofessional education, collaborative practice and scholarship

RSVP Here

Space is limited Register by: Friday April 20

Questions? Contact sholly@uic.edu 312-413-5258

Keynote Speaker

George E. Thibault, MD became the seventh president of the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation in January 2008. Immediately prior to that, he served as Vice President of Clinical Affairs at Partners Healthcare System in Boston and Director of the Academy at Harvard Medical School (HMS). He was the first Daniel D. Federman Professor of Medicine and Medical Education at HMS and is now the Federman Professor, Emeritus.

Dr. Thibault previously served as Chief Medical Officer at Brigham and Women's Hospital and as Chief of Medicine at the Harvard affiliated Brockton/West Roxbury VA Hospital. He was Associate Chief of Medicine and Director of the Internal Medical Residency Program at the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH). At the MGH he also served as Director of the Medical ICU and the Founding Director of the Medical Practice Evaluation Unit.

For nearly four decades at HMS, Dr. Thibault played leadership roles in many aspects of undergraduate and graduate medical education. He played a central role in the New Pathway Curriculum reform and was a leader in the new Integrated Curriculum reform at HMS. He was the Founding Director of the Academy at HMS, which was created to recognize outstanding teachers and to promote innovations in medical education. Throughout his career he has been recognized for his roles in teaching and mentoring medical students, residents, fellows and junior faculty. In addition to his teaching, his research has focused on the evaluation of practices and outcomes of medical intensive care and variations in the use of cardiac technologies.

Dr. Thibault is Chairman of the Board of the MGH Institute of Health Professions, Chairman of the Board of the New York Academy of Medicine, and he serves on the Boards of the Institute on Medicine as a Profession and the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. He served on the President's White House Fellows Commission during the Obama Administration and for twelve years he chaired the Special Medical Advisory Group for the Department of Veteran's Affairs. He is past President of the Harvard Medical Alumni Association and Past Chair of Alumni Relations at HMS. He is a member of the National Academy of Medicine.

Dr. Thibault graduated summa cum laude from Georgetown University in 1965 and magna cum laude from Harvard Medical School in 1969. He completed his internship and residency in Medicine and fellowship in Cardiology at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH). He also trained in Cardiology at the National Heart and Lung Institute in Bethesda and at Guys Hospital in London, and served as Chief Resident in Medicine at MGH.

Dr. Thibault has been the recipient of numerous awards and honors from Georgetown (Ryan Prize in Philosophy, Alumni Prize, and Cohongaroton Speaker) and Harvard (Alpha Omega Alpha, Henry Asbury Christian Award and Society of Fellows). He has been a visiting Scholar both at the Institute of Medicine and Harvard's Kennedy School of Government and a Visiting Professor of Medicine at numerous medical schools in the U.S. and abroad. In 2017 he was the recipient of the Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education from the Association of American Medical Colleges and he was made an honorary Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. He has received honorary doctoral degrees from Georgetown University, Wake Forest University and The Commonwealth Medical College.